What Does Writing Mean To Me?

To, escape the madness I used writing as a way to erase the only living in Chicago could bring.  What, does writing mean to me? It, gives me the determination to become self-sufficient by using my craft as a way to uproot myself out of the impoverished community I live in. Through writing, a platform has been created so that  I’m able to expose my inner most feelings from an emotional and spiritual level. 

                    Self expression, through writing exposes the very core of who I am as a woman while erasing the stereotypes placed on me by society. I’m viewed by society as being worthless, because I haven’t advanced in either my educational or financial careers. creatively through writing, I’m given the poetic licenses to share my ideals of the state of the world around me. Although, I’ve tapped into my creative calling at a very young age(I, started writing script and screenplays, at the tender age of 13) its forever evolving.  

                       My golden pen and pad has literally save my life. Writing poetry, gives me the courage to stand against adversity while carrying the torch of freedom passed down to me by my ancestors who’ve paved the way within their quest for equality.  Through my creative platform I’m able to break free from all of the insecurities that have tried to hinder my progression within this artistic field.  I’ve, been inspired by the pioneers of today which include Maya, Terry, and Alice who through their works have encouraged me to dream bigger. I’ve, embraced my creative connection joined by my mother and grandmother who’ve rested their dreams of being famous published authors on my heart so that I could go forward within my called as a Poetess….(To Be Continued)

Leave a Reply

